20
Jan
10

Spring Season Preview

Michael Musto, Jesse Green, and Michael Riedel photo by Susan Haskins

on Thirteen:
Friday, January 22nd
at 1:00 AM

on CUNY TV:
Saturday, January 23rd
at 8:30 PM
Sunday, January 24th at 12:30 PM and
Monday, January 25th at 7:30 AM, 1:30 PM, and 7:30 PM

Theater journalists Jesse Green of New York MagazineMichael Musto of The Village Voice and Patrick Pacheco of the Los Angeles Times look forward to what is coming to Broadway this spring, including The Addams Family Musical, American Idiot, The Million Dollar Quartet, Abigail Breslin in The Miracle Worker, and Twyla Tharp’s new musical based on the songs of Frank Sinatra.

2 Responses to “Spring Season Preview”


  1. 1 Viewer Mail
    01/23/2010 at 5:08 pm

    Hello.
    SInce I moved to NYC 5 years ago I have watched many, many episodes of
    Theater Talk. I am essentially writing to let you know exactly why you
    have lost me as a viewer permanently. Given the tone and commentary of
    your shows, I do not understand why the people on your panel have
    decided to make their careers in the Theatre….from what I can glean
    they must LOATHE everything about it. I just watched a panel of
    Micheal Riedel, Jesse Green, Micheal Musto, Patrick Pacheco, and Susan
    Haskins break down the Spring Shows coming to Broadway and essentially
    disparage every one of them. Susan and Patrick had a few nice things
    to say, but for the most part I am led to believe that everything that
    will open this Spring will be lousy , embarrassing, and not worth
    seeing. Is this how you feel about theater? Mr. Riedel has made his
    career salivating over anything that might be considered a failure to
    the extent that I believe he must actually hope that nothing is ever
    good again. I am an actor and I am fully aware that many things do not
    reach the level of art in the commercial theater but I refuse to
    believe that all of the artists who are rehearsing, designing,
    writing, studying and working their asses off right now deserve the
    treatment given by this lack of respect. If you see the piece and do
    not think highly of it I can understand giving your point of
    view…but these shows have yet to be presented and you have already
    marked them off as junk. Shame on you….if you despise it this much,
    perhaps you should do something else with your life.
    I do not for an instant think that you care about my response…but I
    wanted to have my say. I will not be watching your programs any more.
    You may not wish for the theater community to succeed, but I have
    wanted nothing in my life so much as to make a living as a performer
    in this city. For that reason and for the countless artists like
    myself who feel likewise, I am keeping my fingers crossed that this
    Spring will be one full of victory for theater in NYC.

    Jody Cook

  2. 2 Viewer Mail
    01/23/2010 at 5:09 pm

    It’s disgusting to watch four self absorbed queers condescend to what isone of the most historic moments in American music history created by fouriconic American musicians, whose work and legacy influences music around theworld to this day. These pathetic fags will never come remotely close tocreating and contributing the ineffable body of outstanding and historic workcreated by Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, and Jerry Lee Lewis, whosework changed music forever and is honored by the finest musicians around theworld to this day. You shouldsicken yourself, because you sure sicken me. T. Foley


Leave a Reply

Sign up for our Newsletter!

Conatct Us

send an email to theatertalk@gmail.com

Archives

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Viewer Comments

Bea Foley on Spring Season Preview
jackie on Spring Season Preview
Betty Farber on Who Wrote SHAKESPEARE? Defendi…
rconcepcion on Dick Cavett
Patricia Scriveri on Dick Cavett
Thirteen
CUNY TV

